Difference between Volksgrenadier, German Rifle 44 ...

Hello guys!

I'm a newbie and have some questions:

What is the difference between Volksgrenadier, German Riffle 44, German Sicherung and the other German infantry units (in CMBO and the others)?

I know, that they have different fire power and the squads are differently sized, but is there something else? Do some units panic easier? Is it better to buy units whose squad size is bigger? If this quesiton has been asked before and I'm sure that it has (there are just too many topics that I can't find the correct ones) I would be really thankfull for the a link. smile.gif

Welcome, Mat 69.

On the squad level it doesn't matter, but when you look at the platoon, company, and battalion level of these different types of units you'll see they come in different structures and with different types of organic (belonging to that unit) support weapons.

Also some of them have their own distinctive uniforms.

If you are playing a historically accurate scenario, the type of infantry you find yourself facing could also be a tip-off to other facts- for example, Volksturm are unlikely to be fit or very experienced at all, Panzergrenadiers may well have a lot of halftracks in the area, etc, etc.

The infantry squads of different kinds of troops (PZG, Jgr, Volksturm, SS, etc) are only treated differently according to their experience level setting only. As Sergei demonstrated above in a fasion, units of different kinds are treated the same in terms of morale no matter what size the squads are or how they are armed and equipt individually. Veterans are all veterans, and your greenies are all just greenies no matter what their uniform, even if a full sized SS mannequin!