Blenhiem Blunder (Quick Play) - Spolier alert

Hi,

I just finished playing the quick version (small, 15 turns) of the Blenheim Blunder.

I only managed to get a draw as the allies, as I am not very good at armor battles.

I would be most grateful to learn how any of you CM masters out there approached this mission, so maybe I can learn something about the art of armor warfare.

My take on this battle was to send the Stuarts to hull down positions near the left VPL, with the Grants staying in the low area just before the abandoned position. I sent one plt of Crusaders up the hill on the right to hull down positions while arraying the 2nd plt on the road to drive to the right VPL.

Basically, all my stuarts got plastered very fast by the Panzers, only managing to kill a couple of AC, while my Grants knocked out a couple Panzers before getting KOed. My Crusaders got KOed really fast, accomplishing nothing. In the end, I salvaged a draw only by leaving my second wave of grants (from the re-inf) in place, and shooting from the bottom of the map at the Panzers, while my re-inf of Stuarts and AT towed guns got massacred, causing absolutely no damage.

What would be your plan for this scenario?

Thanks very much

• 1 year later...

SPOILER ALERT!

Just trucked this one out for the first time, last night. Never played it before, but it looked like fun. (I'm not finished it yet.)

So far, I'm swattin' the Germans. Mainly because I think I made an important choice from the beginning.

Leave your Grants BACK, near your map edge. Place them at the BOTTOM of the allowed set-up zone (I can't remember if that's SOUTH or NORTH or what), and then REVERSE them into HULL-DOWN positions on that high ground. From there they will RULE the earth!! Or at least that small mapped protion of it.

The Cursaders you have to be VERY delicate with. I left mine on the Right hill as well, but I only SHOOT and SCOOT with them, trying to harass mainly.