Dratted Fireflies...

Hello, I'm a relative newbie to the game but have completed quite a few operations against the AI.

I cant seem to understand the accuracy of the Sherman Firefly in this game. In the Villers Bocage operation, they frequently outshot my elite Tigers, thrice knocking them out on the first shots. Whereas, the Tigers seem to hit mostly with the second shot.

In quite a few other games, I had hull down Tigers shot away by first shot Fireflies ranging from distances of 300 to 700m. It seems that my Tigers cant even ambush these damn cat killers. OTOH, the Panthers perform admirably, getting 17 pdr shells ricocheting off them sometimes. They also seem to hit more often.

Is there something wrong with the game engine? I mean, werent Tigers reputed for excellent Zeiss optics?

smile.gif You're not the first one who has comen onto this forum with that question. I too learned that Tiger IE wasn't invincible in 1944 anymore, thanks to 17 pounder and 76mm guns, especially when they had Tungsten ammo.

300 to 700 metres is a short range for tanks, but CMBO doesn't model gun optics (like CMBB does) because they didn't have good sources back then, and because it was considered that the differences didn't matter that much in western Europe where average engagement ranges were short.

Yes I was rather surprised as to what happened to Tiger Is that werent used properly. :eek:

But I still cant understand why those dratted Tiger drivers cant shoot straight, whereas their adversaries in Fireflies can. :confused:

I think I should take a picture of my face and post it next time I see an ambushing Tiger miss, a Firefly turrent turn, and blast it with shot # 1. :eek: :mad: :(

von Khan,

There is one "magic" number to know when trying to figure which tanks are more accurate: MUZZLE VELOCITY!! The higher the M.V., the more accurate the gun, since optics are not modeled. So consider these M.V.s':

Sherman 619

Panzer IV 750

StuG 770

Tiger I **773**

Puma 850