Armor how important is it?

minmax

Being a teacher I like to generate good discussion. So here is the question.

With high velocity SABOT rounds, shape charged warheads in ATGMs, high K-energy mines that seem oblivious to any armor is armor thickness that important?

I think heavy armor is a waste, I think speed and manueverability is more important. Is there something out there that can nullify weapons effectiveness against Main Battle Tanks?

Anyway, I am curious about what others with far greater knowledge than mine think.%)

"It ain't over till a GRUNT puts a flag on it!" smile.gif

------------------

M. L. Johnson

TAOC DAWG

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The battle between armour and weapon is an old one, from pre-medievil times. Usually the latest weapon will end up beating the latest armour.

However, I'd still like to have armor capable of defeating the other 95% of weapons out there, even at the cost of some maneuverability. Then again, I have a very defensive mindset. I assume the other guy is a good shot and will get the first shot off (Ambush or some such), and no amount of speed will prevent a hit from a good gunner with a good weapon, especially with today's high-speed target acquisition/engagement times.

NTM

------------------

The difference between infantrymen and cavalrymen is that cavalrymen get to die faster, for we ride into battle!