Of Strange New Sounds & Other Matters

I started playing around with the Gold demo CE scenario, to familiarize myself with some of the new features, when I noticed something both odd and annoying. It was a curious electronic shuddering sound, which began as my troops began to move and continued after the turn ended. To further confuse me, the distant crump of artillery was both clear and easily audible.

If that annoying sound was supposed to be MG fire, what do I need to do to fix it? I never had this come up before with the Beta, which had clear, distinct MG firing sounds. I found the new shuddering sound so aggravating I quit the Gold demo. On a related note, is there any way to suppress the blaring music which plays right up to actual scenario start?

Finally, will the finished game be implemented in such a way that I can treat it as a Mac window when it's running? Presently, the only way I can exit the window is to quit the program. I have (and had in the Beta) zero access to my control bar, which, among other things, lets me control the volume.Nor am I able to resize the window.

I have no doubt that you have done some incredible things; I really want to see them, but the new interface problems are a major distraction from a tremendous game.

I'd appreciate any and all feedback on the issues I've raised.

Many thanks.

John Kettler

P.S. I forgot to provide platform details--233 MHz iMac under OS 8.6 with 64 MB RAM and 2 MB VRAM (ATI RAGE?) stock video board.

[This message has been edited by John Kettler (edited 05-11-2000).]

Guest Big Time Software

Not sure what the "shuddering" sound is. But try turning off ambient sound (press SHIFT-S once or twice).

You can suppress the intro music by pressing any key.

You can switch out of the CM application to the desktop by pressing the ESC key.

Charles