China, The Next Super Power?

I will start with a disclaimer; I am not an expert on China. Nor, am I to the best of my knowledge, Prejudice or Racist towards people of Chinese or Asian origin. The purpose of this post is to start a thoughtful discussion on the potential future.

With the collapse of Communism is the USSR, the US is now the worlds only Super Power. However I believe that this situation will only continue for another decade or two at most. Here is why I think China will become the next super power

Monetary: China has been a poor nation for a long time. However, thanks to a very liberal trade policy with the US, the Chinese are flourishing financially. In our greed to try and cash in on a consumer base of 1.8 billion people, we are supporting one of the most totalitarian governments in the world.

Infrastructure: With this money the Chinese are building up their infrastructure. The PRC has committed 1 TRILLION dollars to building up their country.

Military: Realize except for the rocket technology; most PRC army equipment is vintage WWII and Old Russian hand-me downs. Once again thanks to a large windfall of money; they are upgrading their military. Now currently under development is the X-31 a jet fighter equal to the F-14. Half of all money made from export to the US is believed to be spent on the military.

Future Aggressors: a few of the major reasons I think they will be the ones to start the next major conflict. Water. They are running very low. All major cities are water rationing. Low resources; they are running out including farmland. Now look northward. Lots of land, tons of natural resources, plenty of water, ample room for an overcrowded populace.

Please post your own thoughts here, on these subjects

Is China the next Super Power?

With China start the worlds next major conflict?

"Writing posts to occupy my time while awaiting CM and the end of this very boring workday wink.gif"-Darstand