A couple of questions

So I'm new to this game and there are a whole bunch of things I'm wondering about.

1. How do you suppress the enemy when you don't see them, but you know they are there?

Example:

A Stryker with a Mk19 sees someone far away and the Stryker opens up. The enemy goes prone and then disappears. Now I want the Stryker to suppress the area where the enemy is. So I click on the Stryker, I click on the red icon that says Target, I try to click on the ground where the enemy was, but it says the Stryker doesn't have a line of sight. Clearly this is wrong because the Stryker just pounded that area seconds ago. What am I doing wrong?

2. My arty is always missing. Am I doing something wrong?

Pretty much always I call in artillery (mortars), the spotter doesn't correct the mortar onto the target. About 20 to 50 meters away from the target, the spotter calls for a fire for effect, then the artillery misses. Often it misses horribly. Am I doing something wrong or is this simply the way the game is designed?

3. When I try to attack ground with the red Target button, I notice I cannot precisely select where I want to shoot. Not sure how to explain. It's like the ground is made of gigantic squares and you can only select the center of the squares. Is there a more precise way to choose where you want to shoot on the ground?

4. When a Stryker is transporting troops, the troops turn out to see outside. This is fine. However, the enemy tries to shoot with small arms at the troops. Can the enemy kill the turned out troops? Should I be worried? If so, is there a way to make them stay inside?

I'd really appreciate it if someone could answer those questions for me. Thanks.

I can answer a few of these...first off the squares are really there, you have that correct, they are referred to as action spots. They are 8X8 meters. Sometimes you have to play around with them to target where you want but they aren't going to be exact when it comes to area fire.