MG section team breakdown

HMG/MMG sections of various flavors in the game (HMG42, M1919A4, M1917A1, M2HB, etc.) are usually represented in the game as two units: An MG unit of 3-7 men that actually carries, mans and fires the MG, and often (but not always) an accompanying ammo bearer unit composed of 2-4 riflemen that carry ammo for the MG. While I am no expert, based on what I do know of the actual TOEs, this division of MG sections into two separate units is generally not an “official” TOE thing, it’s an in-game abstraction to better represent how MG sections actually deploy and fight.

Most of the time, I think this structure works fairly well. But since MG sections in the game can not be split and merged the way rifle squads can, there are a couple of drawbacks. First, since this is a “hard split”, soldiers from the ammo team can’t help man the MG if the MG team takes heavy casualties. Second, the MG team always uses its own ammo first and won’t start to use the ammo team’s until it is completely dry; there’s no way to “push” ammo from the ammo unit to the MG unit.

Ideally, it would be great if MG teams behaved more like rifle squads, and could be split and re-joined, even up their ammo and head counts when joined, etc. However, my understanding from comments Steve has made on this subject is that this would require some substantial code changes, so we are not likely to see major changes in this area until CM:Bulge or later.