How Best to Stage Amphib Assaults

I'm new to SC2 (though I did play SC1), and I would like to save learning curve time by soliciting an opinion based on experience. Playing as Allies, is it better to transport US units across Atlantic as ampib transports and invade France directly, or is it best to transport US units to UK ports first, then reload them into ampib transports for the invasion? The latter is expensive and time consuming at a time that the Soviets are getting mauled. I have the Ampibious Warfare research bonus at level 2, but I do wonder about the transatlantic trek resulting in high landing losses. Is there an Amphibious Warfare bonus level (which goes potentially to 5) at which ampib assault staging from USA would be the best option?

It is somewhat of an art, but I guess I really smart SC player could create a table to demonstrate the way I handle things.

Transports are faster so they spend less time at sea. But as countries increase amphibious warfare technology, the amphibious transport go faster.

Units embarked loose supply (an therefore combat capability) when embarked.

So, if I have a low amphibious tech level and want to invade Europe or Africa from the USA I might want to first stage using transport in a friendly port. But, if I want to gain strategic surprise I would embark my troops in amphibious transports in the USA for a direct assault across the Atlantic

Also, as my amphibious tech increase I’ll have more flexibility as my embarked troops will get to the beaches faster.

This is how I look at it when I make a decision.

along the lines of amphib assault

do you have a sense if there is a benefit to having a leader next to the guy prior to loading on assault boats, or do they automatically go to 10 if they land on the first turn. trying to decide if it is worth the hassle to have leader attach to units prior to loading into amphibs