Stuck on mission: House Cleaning

I'm completely new to this game and my tactical ability on the battlefield leaves a lot to be desired.

I'm totally stuck on the mission called House Cleaning in which you have to assault the hospital complex.

To cut a long story short, I approach the ditch with the strykers and dismount. From that point on my infantry get suppressed and massacred unless they're tucked right next to the wall, in which case they can't fire back. I even blew a couple of holes in the wall to allow my infantry to return fire but the enemy simply shoots through the holes and kills my guys.

The strykers suppress well for a short while but eventually the gunners get taken-out by small arms fire. RPGs also pose a problem for the strykers.

This is all before reinforcements arrive. I can only guess that they'd swiftly get massacred too.

Any tips from people who actually have completed it?

You are approaching the ditch too early. Keep your Strykers and infantry near your edge of the map and kill as many Syrians as possible from there.

Start with a half-squad or two dismounted to act as "bait" so the Syrians fire and reveal their positions. Kill or suppress any revealed Syrians with the Strykers. Then dismount some Javelin teams to take out IDed Syrians in the upper floors.

Then you are ready to advance some Strykers to the ditch with infantry mounted. Keep at least half your force back as overwatch. Syrians in ground floor positions will still be active, so don't park your Strykers in front of breaches in the wall (RPGs!). Dismount a halfsquad to peek through a breach and draw fire from ground floor Syrians. Kill/suppress IDed Syrians. Rinse, lather, repeat.

By this point, most of the Syrians should be dead, so you should be able to safely drive a Stryker-bourne squad up to the main building where they can dismount and enter. Use smoke liberally.

I just completed it! Your way does sound a lot better, but mine worked nonetheless.