Nov.11 Remembrance Day

Lest we forget!

I salute all those who fought for, fight for, and who have died while defending FREEDOM. My uncle died in *the coffin* in Holland Oct. 26/44, he was 19. My father served in Europe from '43 to '46 with the Canadian Engineers.

My hats off to all.

Krazy Canuck,

a very proud Canadian

Amen.

Today is Veteran's Day in the United States--the day we commemorate all veterans. My grandfather, a WWII (76th ID) vet died this past year.

But the church I attended yesterday has a large group of British and Australians as well, so Remembrance Sunday was celebrated there.

My uncle was a T-Patch'er and fought in Italy and Germany. He never would talk about it. He'd always say "I was a cook and didn't get to the front lines..."

He passed away a few months ago.

Too many of us take for granted the sacrafices made by our forefathers, fathers, brothers and sons, so that we may enjoy the freedoms we have today.

COG

I had a great uncle who was killed outside of Caen in the summer of 1944 and my father's parents both served from '40 to '45 as engineers.

I also had a great-grandfather who was injured three times in the Great War and lived NOT to talk about it (unless he was in his cups). Plus, two relatives (my great-great grandfather's nephews!) killed in the First World War.

To them and all who served, thank you.

Originally posted by Krazy Canuck:

Lest we forget!

I salute all those who fought for, fight for, and who have died while defending FREEDOM. My uncle died in *the coffin* in Holland Oct. 26/44, he was 19.

Krazy Canuck,

a very proud Canadian

coffin.gif

You mean this coffin?

What was his name? Was he Black Watch or Calgary Highlanders?

[ November 11, 2002, 09:06 AM: Message edited by: Michael Dorosh ]

Originally posted by Michael Dorosh:

</font><blockquote>quote:</font><hr />Originally posted by Krazy Canuck:

Lest we forget!