Tank Passengers

What sort of units should I have riding on the backs of my tanks? Does it matter how many tanks I have at the time? I usually group my tanks in quartets, and put three rifle squads, an officer, and some sort of support unit like a machine gun or a flamethrower, but I'm still learning and I'm not that good. If anybody knows a better way to arrange my men on tank back, please let me know.

------------------

"War is like a cat, it is easy to let out of the bag, but hard as hell to put back in!"

-Me

Matt,

Your arrangement sounds good to me.

I would guess that there are few hard and fast rules for this.

The Russians put smg (and other) squads on tanks during the war and they dismounted and close assaulted when they were in range of the German troops. That's a tactic I haven't tested yet in CM, though.

I would think you could put anyone you want on a tank, as long as you keep in mind these guidelines:

A tank is not a half track. Usually you can find something better for it to do than play taxi. If your operational tempo lags because your tanks are delivering troops around the battlefield, something is wrong.

At tank is often shot at by a variety of nasty exploding things and automatic weapons. And when it is, the people clinging to the outside are going to feel it.

good luck, comrade,

Terence

[This message has been edited by Terence (edited 12-07-2000).]