I got my Combat Mission fix, finally!!! Questions..

I promised myself I wouldn't buy it until I got a better system (I was told a faster system would speed up "turns" and graphics would be improved. I have a P3450 with 128 Ram and a Geforce 256 videocard), but I saw the special edition on the shelf while visiting in Vancouver and I couldn't help myself!

I've wanted to get it since I tried the demo for CMBB, but I thought, "ah, I'll get killed in customs, duties, etc (I'm in Canada). But now.. I'll be getting CMBB when it comes out, too.

Personally, I think CMBB is a better version.. I remember the kill-zones and ambushes were easier to set up.. And the graphics were a little better too, I think.. It's been a while.

I'm having a blast! Still trying to figure out how to keep my armour from being wiped out as soon as they crest a hill, and how to keep my flamethrower units and MG's from being left in the dust, for example.. But it's coming..

I like the Canadian Missions.. It's like I'm in "A Bridge Too Far" (A classic!!!).

So, is there an improvement in performance/visual quality with a faster processor/better videocard? Any advantages to advancing under cover of darkness, or should I just skip 'em, or use the turns to barrage?

Thank in advance for any and all comments!

I have a P200, 128Mb, and Voodoo4 with 32 mb, and cmbo just runs fine. In extremely large maps things go sluggish, but for most battles it is ok. So, I guess you don't need to upgrade your system to get the best of it. If you plan to get cmbb, that's another story however.

The beauty of CMBO:SE is that it runs well on older machines. I don't have to fight the other 2 gamers in my family for the newest P4 as CMBO runs on the 2 older machines; a P200mmx with 8MB Voodoo 2 (slow on large scenarios) and P2 450 with stuck on 4MB ATI Rage Pro.