Battlefront is now Slitherine ×

ratio of attacker -defender calculation

Greetings everyone.

I am new in this kind of game.I would like to ask a question knowing from the beginning that the answer is complicated

Anyway, i try to figure out about the minimum required ratio between an attacker and defender in order an attack can have reasonable chances to succeed in CMBB.

Count and compare similar units.(infantry battalion to infantry battalion for example)

Another case is when units are not similar

(tank battalion against infantry one)

Another case is when you have a group of forces against an enemy group

(infantry battalion with artillery support against opponent unit with artillery support.

I would like to ask if based on your experience you have certain norms established about ratios?

Do you have also a certain method to add the combat firepower and compare it (ratio) against the enemy one?

What about when someone is stronger in artillery byt weeker in infantry strength?

i ask cause i have found from a research i did that the US college for staff had established certain procedures to calculate fighting power of a force and compare it to a Soviet one, during cold war period.Although of course the procedure was just theory based on assumptions and was not accepted as valid from many,still it gave a guidance for commanders.

What are your assumptions about ratios,based in your experience?

Ensured success for the attacker is usually assumed to required 1:3 superiority in men and material, and of course no material unsuitable for terrain or conditions. Sometimes this is even upfactored to say it has to be one unit level up, e.g. battalion attacking company, which is substancially more than 1:3 because of support units in the higher formation.