some newbie questions

SPOILER ALERT "DER BERG"

SPOILER ALERT "DER BERG"

Maybe someone can help me, I am a newbie.

I tried the CMBO "DerBerg" mission as the Allied forces. The Germans surrendered after 39 moves, even though my side had more casualties. I think that was because I flanked the mountain, on both sides. Pushed up the middle wasted their Artillary, on my 57mm AT Guns ( These things dont Fire properly). Finished off with a three pronged assault to the top of the hill, while bringing in the 7 tanks they all drove right up to the top, except for one, got bogged down.

1, I dont understand why my 57mm AT Guns were sitting on top of one ridge, and the enemy was sitting on the further slope. I could not get LOS between my guns and theirs. When I viewed at "Trench View" I could see them perfectly. I could not fire? I moved one of the guns down the hill but the artillary took him out before I could test could he fire.

Maybe some one could help me there?

2, Everytime I try to suppress a dug in enemy with whatever I have. I want to bring an infantry squad to flank the trench, but they allways run right over it. Sometimes they get it and make a complete fire and manouvre, but they do not use their grenades, at the trench, and nearly half the team gets wiped out. Is there a way to control the actions of the Infantry squads?

Are you supposed to use Engineer squads for this type of work?

Also can you get someone to help carrying heavy items, to make them move quicker? EG. the US flame thrower came in as a reinforcement, but by the time he got to half way where I had planned for him the Germans had surrendered. Could I have hooked him up with an infantry unit and they would have all shared the load?

Am I asking for too much realism here?

3, I understand having to wait 2 to 3 minutes for a heavy mortar co-ord, but when I try to lift and shift, I have to wait another couple of minutes, if the area is not exactly near the older one.

Anyone got any hints?