Map 'work in progress' - feedback please

Just asking some general feedback (good or bad) on a map I'm making....

River Valley

RV3.jpg

Its a small farming community with manor house situated at one end of a river valley.

Not really 'Russian' terrain but more suited to late war .....

Hoping to make is suitable for a mech attack/defend.

RV2.jpg

Its still a work in progress and there is more to do, especially at the attackers end of the map.

Its my first attempt at a map and I'd be interested in a few ideas on how to improve it !!

Anybody know if CMBB maps will import into the CMAK editor ???? As I was making it i thought it may be better re-worked as an Italian map !

Thanks

Concur, good job Lou. smile.gif

No criticism , watch the amount of "physical" challenge the map might present to an attacker. Soft ground/ rough areas really cut down on offensive options. Spotters on the attacking side shouldn't , as a rule be spoon fed with primo spotting locations up front. Arty Spotters give the player a more realistic feel when they have to "work" a little for their kills.

You have roads that demonstrate some realistic connectivity (which is a MUST IMHO). Roads that meander over terrain that would make an Engineer puke is a recurring issue in so many maps I have seen...... :(

I agree, it looks very promising :eek: .. not to criticize, but for a mech attack, perhaps cut the rough terrain slightly, as Brigadier suggested? vehicles can struggle against inf if there is a lot of ambush sites etc.. this could also be a strength though smile.gif . And this map could look real good as a Northern Italy map as well (perhaps with slight modifications, but nothing big). Looks very promising indeed (NOTHING like a QB :D ), looking forward to playing it

Thanks again for feedback.

I've altered some of the terrain to allow the attacker some alternate approaches to the village for infantry.