Canucks in TacOps4

Kozure

Enjoyed the game immensely over the weekend. Thanks to MajorH and anyone else who assisted in the development of the game.

I had a small scenario-balance question, however.

Being a Canadian, I took MajorH's advice and tried out some of the scenarios in the CA folder. As I'm new to the game, I decided to try out the smaller Combat Team level games, as opposed to the battlegroups.

I'm a veteran of a fair number of board and video games, so I thought I wouldn't do all too badly. Wrongo. I ran out of time without seeing the enemy (I had misread the mission order time limit) in one of the very first scenarios (Combat Team Carter? Hague? I can't remember - the one where you try to take a defended position with a mechanized company reinforced by a tank platoon and a FO). Obviously I was proceeding too cautiously. I tried again. Still ran out of time. I proceeded at what I thought was a reckless breakneck pace and bullied my way into the target area, only to be thrown back in disarray. Time up.

I was a little frustrated, so I decided to try the next scenario. A CA tank squadron vs. red T80 platoon reinforced by a BTR80 motorized infantry platoon and embarked AT-4 spigot teams.

Creamed. My poor Leopard C2s were decimated - I had lost the better part of three platoons without cracking their position. I tried to be a little more cautious. Took less casualties, but still ran out of time. Third time, I wiped out the entire T80 platoon and a few of the AT-4 teams, but ran out of time again.

Don't get me wrong - I'm enjoying playing. The game is teaching me a lot about modern tactics (especially the unexpected effectiveness of ICM artillery), but I was a little surprised at how often I was losing.