Newbie Mod Question

Glenn

I'm one very happy camper!!! :D Got my copy of CMBO/CMBB today after the backorder of a couple of weeks ago. Thanks for the speedy service Battlefront! That was quick considering it had to clear Canadian Customs and all. Appreciate the efforts there. The games are outstanding (got the bundle) and the manual is equally as great!

OK, dumb question of the week time. Since I'm very new to this game, and I've read most posts regarding mods and definitely want to employ a good number of them, may I please pose a couple of questions on that here?

1) Are the tanks, uniforms, etc. that are used in winter the same ones used in summer in the game (thus the reason for the mods)? If so, I take it that each time you add a mod, you have to replace that unit with a season-specific version?

2) I've read some about CMMOS (?) and gather it is a very handy utility. I'm pretty much accustomed to making mod changes manually (in MS Flight Simulator) so I know exactly what is being changed, but with reference to Q1 above, that might get to be more than a small pain in the derriere if there is only one set of uniforms for all seasons. Could anyone please comment on what all CMMOS does and if it works well with W-XP Pro?

3) While I normally backup/zip all original folders prior to making any changes, are there any other cautions I need to follow that I may not have thought of when making these changes? As far as running into performance problems, I suspect I'm ok that way with a P-IV 2.26 and 512 MB DDR RAM, video of GeForce IV TI-4400 w/128 MB. If anyone sees a potential problem though, I'd appreciate any comments on that.

I think that's all for now, but further comments beyond this are most appreciated. Again I do apologise for taking up valuable forum space on such rudimentary items, but hey, I guess we all have to start somewhere smile.gif . Thank you very much in advance.

Glenn

Originally posted by Glenn: