Angle of attack

I know the angle of the incoming round with respect to a tank can make the difference between a glancing shot and a kill.

If you had a choice to advance closer to the enemy to get on a slope that was more advantageous, how much closer can you get before the payoff of the better slope is outweighed by the decrease in range of the incoming round?

[This message has been edited by iggi (edited 04-06-2000).]

I'd have to say 'It depends'. There's a whole lot of factors that go into this sort of thing. If it involves getting hull down when you aren't already, you're probably better off getting quite a bit closer. Also, the greater the slope of your armor initially, the more effect the increase in slope will have. A panther, for instance, on a 15 degree slope, will probably have almost everything that hits the glacis (at a 70 degree angle now) bounce off, but a tiger won't gain nearly the advantage from that same 15 degree slope. (I think; I'm not an expert on such things, but basic trig seems to suggest that)

So it's hard to give any hard and fast rule on such things. I expect you'll figure it out after a little bit of experience with the game...

-John

Guest Captain Foobar

You still have plenty of differing angles on your target, and could hit a different spot, ie. different angle every time.

If you have a low velocity gun, I would get as close as is reasonable. Theres not too much you can do about the angle, as your target isnt a static flat surface.

Cya

Foobar

I'd have to agree with JH and Foobar.

I remember being trained in AT warfare as an Infantryman where they told us flank shots were the best. Later, when I spent a year (mid Seventies) in an Armored Bn, with M60A1's (I know, different gun than we are using) they STILL said flank shots were the best. smile.gif