Sniper in position and his line of sight?

I'm new to CMx and playing a game where I have moved my German sniper team into place expecting a long view from the woods down a railroad track, and beyond, with trees on either side. Covering an area of expected approach.  As I set my waypoints I checked LOS to make sure he had vision. The track bed is slightly elevated but as the sniper approached LOS was there. Now he is in position but seems to want to take a prone position which places him too low to see down the tracks and I go from the "blue line" to a no sight message when checking with "target".  The team is not "hiding" it has only reached the final waypoint, but the spotter is prone looking through his binoculars and the sniper is prone with rifle ready looking through the scope.  Looks like if they were up on a knee the LOS would be there. I did set a target arc thinking if he knew what he was expected to cover he would put himself into position to see, but that had no effect. So...

Will the sniper raise his head to get a view, or am I stuck with him never acquiring the LOS I expected to have? The only fix I can see would be to have him crawl up the embankment of the tracks but this would leave him exposed. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.