anti-air weapons

c2yeung

I am new to anti-air weapons in Cold War and need some help in using them effectively (hand-held and vehicle-based). how to deploy them? do I need to issue any combat command?  I played a couple of scenarios both as US and Soviet and placed anti-air assets on the roof and open ground.  There were definitely some air attacks throughout the game but not once did I see my anti-air assets fire their weapons during video replay. did I do something wrong? please advise.

I generally keep MANPADS within resupply range of their carriers as I want them to reload & fire w/o me having to micro-manage their ammo supply. Other people do the opposite so their MANPADS aren't black on ammo later in the game. 

I also try to make sure the AD guys have an open view of the sky and generally keep them in the rear. I tend to avoid putting MANPADS (or anyone) on rooftops as they are way to easy to hit w/VT artillery. 

It can be tempting to use a ZSU-23-4 or Vulcan in direct fire but they are hideously vulnerable and you never have enough of them for AD. 

H

First of all you need to have clear line of sight with your AA assets. Buildings, trees and hills will block it, so try to get them in a good position or keep them close to the units you want to protect. 

Putting some MANPADS on rooftops isn't a bad idea at all. Just make sure that you don't put them on a building your enemy could consider as a prime target. 

Usually before the enemy chopper or jet gets into action, you hear them arriving first. So you could "park" the MANPADS team in the lower floors and then quickly run onto the rooftops once their time has come. 

But always keep in mind that they have a maximum range too. Strela I believe are around 2km,while the Stingers can reach around 4km (correct me if I'm wrong). 

So on big maps it can happen that your MANPADS are out of range.