Training Mission

Striderpr

Hello i'm new to the Combat Mission series.I have a question about the training in Black sea, when i move my platoon to the firing lane all hell break loose and a start to receive enemy fire. Is this normal for the training mission?  I thought that the enemy dont shoot back in the training lol. Sorry for my english.

Striderpr,

Welcome aboard!

My first outing was a really simple QB I threw together just to see what the game looked like and how it worked. That QB should've been called "Two Minutes to Near Extinction," since I lost nearly half my Russian force in that time. Now that I've had my unsupervised jaunt into the charnel house, perhaps I should go fire up the training scenario myself.

(goes away briefly)

Have come straight from first trying to find the Training Mission in Battle, only to discover there was none. Bit of a shock, but not as much as discovering there was an entire Training Campaign! I've never played a campaign in any CM game, starting with CMx1's trailblazing CMBO in 2000! I like PBEM rather than vs AI, but I pretty much suck vs AI in CMBN, so I do need the Training Campaign here. Lots more moving part, and really fast ones at that. Successfully complete the Training Mission there, but still sucked when it came to actual combat. That's how I discovered what may be the answer to your problem. If you're in Mission 4, the Briefing specifically states you'll be in mock combat against an OPFOR that shoots back! If it's 1-3, then the briefing was deliberately deceptive, there's a problem or both. Must be daunting to be shot at while in the firing lane. Did your AFVs explode or what when hit?

Regards,

John Kettler

Edited by John Kettler

That's odd, I don't think they're supposed to shoot back until the last mission of the training campaign.