Question to experienced players?

I’m new to war games so please bare with me here.

I was playing the Riesburg scenario as German and had all my men hidden for the first turn.

A Sherman appeared from the back of the battlefield about 60 or 70 meters to the right of the road, it was in open ground and not buttoned up.

My sharpshooter was in the original setup location and had a clear line of sight to the Sherman, (about400m) so I unhide him and target the tank to see what will happen. He fires one shot and the tank buttons up. Now for the rest of the game the buttoned Sherman never moves one inch, I think it did fire the main gun for maybe the next 4or5 turns, that I can remember anyway.

After the end of game I checked its status and one crewmember was dead.

My question is which dead crewmember would affect the tank in this manner (or did it just get stuck) and

has any one else had a sharpshooter kill a tank crewmember?

Guest PeterNZ

Damn you were lucky!

My snipers seem to spend most of the game picking their noses.

Yup, you killed the Tank Commander, and due to the low to average morale/experience of the Yanks the rest of the crew decided hidding and not moving was the better part of valour. Normally that would only happen for a cpl of turns at most, (i reckon), but seems like you got doubly lucky smile.gif

PeterNZ

As in real life sharpshooters are best used to go after enemy leadership and high value targets.

Kill an FO team with 2 shots and that heavy arty barrage never happens. Kill a couple of TCs and the tanks are virtually crippled for the rest of the game.

Sharpshooters are very valuable weapons. Personally I just leave them be. I do NOT target for them and simply let the AI kill TCs, mortarmen etc. Only very occasionally will I choose to over-ride targetting to pick off an MG team or something I can't otherwise get.

------------------

Fionn Kelly

Manager of Historical Research,

The Gamers Net - Gaming for Gamers