Newb question about Jagermeister scenario in CMBB

Ok, maybe i'm missing something here, and because I'm a newb, that's more than likely. But......

In the Jagermeister scenario (suggested as the 2nd tutorial in the CMBB manual), playing as the russians, I've got some arty spotters. They say on their info page, transport class 1. As they are a SLOW speed unit, I tried to stick them on a tank, instead of waiting 10 turns for them to get where I need them (when the bulk of my force can be in position in 3-4 turns). For some reason, no can do.

What am I missing? The manual says you can transport, as long as the transportER has a higher transport class number (tanks have tr class 2) than the transportEE (arty spotters have tr class 1), but something is preventing them from being transported by the tanks....

Any help???

Spotters that specifically say "radio" on them can ride vehicles normally. Spotters that don't are using field phones and lines, not radios. Lines and tanks don't mix. They can't ride a vehicle. They are also slow speed when moving on foot, because they are playing out wire as they move around. They are not meant to make large movements. You want them in (or near) places with good LOS and in cover. Then they should call their missions, not try to race around for better sight locations.

You can also, incidentally, call for fire on turn 1, as "map fire", without needing LOS to the target. The time will read 1 second - immediate, no delay. It also will be accurate, no chance of missing the aim point. You can choose which turn you want the arty to land, by repeatedly hitting Q to delay the fire mission for one minute each time. A "fire plan" can be constructed from multiple FOs using turn 1 missions and appropriate delays.