question about gameplay

spadman

I am new to card based games and have only now downloaded the demo. (am deciding if this is the kind of game for me) I am wondering if anyone has done an AAR of a game to show the decisions of cards chosen during dogfight and why they chose that particular card. Right now I am just picking card in yellow just to see what happens but am not really understanding what is happening behind the scene. I suppose it would have helped to play this game with the real cards to better understand. Any help is appreciated. I saw the review and story at the end of Computer Gaming Magazine and that is what intrigued me to give it a try.

spadman

I did see something like this on here a while ago IIRC - I'll have a look.

Edit - have a look

here

My own experience is that it takes a while to get used to the inter-relationships between the cards - when to use a tight turn instead of a barrell roll, and whether to try to avoid that 2:2 with your last Ace Pilot card when he's got 5 cards and 3 bursts left but you've only got 3 structure......

I tend to follow a few simple rules when I can remember them.....

1/ When avoiding fire there are 4 levels of card - the most common is barrel roll, then tight turn, vertical roll and ace pilot getting rareer.

The more structure I would have left if I was hit then the "lower" the level of card I'll use initially. I'll sometimes use a higher level card to avoid smoking.

2/ I'll usually take 1:1's "on the chin" - again as long as I'll have lots of structure left.

3/ The ore cards my target has the more likely he is to be able to avoid my fire, so I'll often try to soak up some of his defensive cards with 1:1 or 1:2 cards before unleashing a 2:d or 3:4 "killer".

4/ 1:2 cards are probably the most lethal ones there are - they can take up a lot of space in your hand but can also give you 2 hits per burst - nasty!