Stick with your guns!

I'm just learning out the hard way that it's best to form a good defense and stick with it or else you'll be up the creek pretty quick.

I'm currently playing a 1500 point defense as the americans, and could see only two main routes of attack - one on each flank. My left had a reverse slope position in some woods, behind which were additional wooded positions.

On the right were additional wooded areas surrounding a fairly large open expanse. I put one platoon on my right with a HMG and a mortar, along with a zook if there happened to be any tanks coming my way.

On my left I tried to set up my main defense, combining a nice little arty ambush with some heavy weapons. The plan was to have an advance platoon keep an eye on the crest of the hill then pull back to a main line supported by a MMG, .50 cal, halftracks and a M10. Unfortunately, the computer only dealt me one spotter, and I had to cover two flanks. My solution was to had it able to see one flank but not the other (target it out of line of site). Since I was weaker on my right, I figured it might be best to have the arty come down quicker on that side if I needed it.

To make a long story short, I had the arty trained on the left, then switched it to center where a platoon plus some MGs had camped out.

Unfortunately, the very next turn some germans came over the ridge on my left. I decided to try to hold them with my advance platoon for a turn or two, but this ended in disaster. My reserve platoon was sent in to reinforce the main line, but is also getting wiped out. The arty is now falling on the germans, but I'm too weak to counterattack.

A classic case of letting yourself get distracted by the opposition rather than sticking to your plan. I could have wiped out his forces if I stuck with my original defense. Instead, I'll be lucky to come out with a minor victory, if at all...