Battlefront is now Slitherine ×

How long would it take to setup a TRP?

Guest Pillar

Guest Pillar

In real life, what is involved with and how long does it take to set up a Target Reference Point?

I'm asking so that I can integrate that with my RPG.

Guest Michael emrys

I'm not an artillery pro and will yield to their greater experience should any care to comment, with the caveat that things have changed quite a bit in their department since the WW II days.

I'd hazard this guess as an answer to your question: It depends.

smile.gif

Okay, a little more depth than that. It depends on what else the artillery battery has to do that day, i.e. how much free time and spare ammo can they devote to establishing TRPs. If they have lots of both, one could probably be set up in 5 minutes or less if the FO is already in position with his comm channels established and the guys back at the battery aren't out to lunch or in the latrine, etc. Otherwise, it's the usual Army routine of sitting around smoking, shooting the breeze, cleaning your weapon, breaking out a C-ration, catching some zees and generally goofing off until somebody else gets their act together.

Without that, the war would probably have ended a year earlier. wink.gif

Michael

Do they really use ammo to set up reference points?

I'd figure that if I was walking along the nice, clear dirt road and spotted a few shell holes zeroing in on the middle the path, I'd think two or three times before walking anywhere but backwards.

In combat they sometimes do use fire and adjust as it is the fast and dirty way, however if you don't or can't do that, registering the guns on a ref point takes anywhere from an hour to 3 or more, (lotta map time, sun sights and number crunching)

------------------

Pzvg

"Murphy's law of combat #10, never forget your weapon is made by the lowest bidder

Guest Michael emrys

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Pham911:

Do they really use ammo to set up reference points?