Sloped Armor and Modern AT Rounds

Guest jaja

Sloping is designed to do 2 things:

1) Increase the thickness of armor versus a certain direction.

2) Increase the chance of a ricochet.

I'm not an expert at modern anti-armor rounds versus sloping, but I can speculate.

HEAT round _could_ be made to rotate, using the precurser probe, to a more favorable angle on sloped armor. The rear charge would then have a more direct shot through armor. I've never heard of this being done, but I think its possible.

Kinetic-energy rounds might constructed so that they are more likely to dig into armor instead of just bouncing off.

But I don't see kinetic-energy rounds changing direction much to increase penetration. You have to remember that these weapons rely heavily on velocity. If their direction is changed, they should lose velocity and therefore lose penetration.

Elasticity might allow them to change direction a little bit. But SABOT rounds, which are very long and thin, can easily snap. If they snap, their penetration goes down considerably.

This kinda stuff gets discussed at www.tanknet.org so I reccomend you check that sight out for the really long answer, but to simply rehash what was mentioned there a slope of 40 degrees provides a 1.31 slope multiplier to armor thickness. A slope of 35 degrees provides a 1.22 slope multiplier to armor thickness (that's based on sines and cosines, which I don't want to go into). Sounds like a good bonus to me.

------------------

-Jackson

EVERYBODY LOVES SINES AND COSINES ETC. UNDERSTAND? GOOD!

If you have two equelly sized hunks of metal and shape on into a 0@ plate and one into a x@ plate, they will have the same equivalent thickness from the front [i found this out with some trigonometry (is there anything it can't do?)].