7.62 mm penetration

Carter

I've been playing TacOps for a few months now and I love it! I love the detail, complexity, and realism! Its given me a better understanding of what mechanized warfare is like.

Most weapons appear to be modeled in the game very accurately.

That said, I was curious about the 7.62 mm penetration in the game.

The penetration of 7.62 mm rounds in the game is very high (about 25 mm close-in). In the user manual the 7.62 is described as using future "high-tech" ammo.

However the current M993 AP round is listed at penetrating only 12 mm. That's half of the penetration in the game.

Apache's are supposed to be basically invulnerable to 7.62 mm. The game models them with 15 mm of armor protection. But with 7.62 mm penetrating up to 25 mm (10 mm more than Apache armor in the game), Apaches are very vulnerable to units with these medium machineguns.

That seems unrealistic to me.

Is the M993's penetration higher close-in? Is the game modeling the 7.62 mm SLAP ammo that didn't live up to expectations in the field? Will there be a change in future versions of TacOps?

------------------

The current values for 7.62 machine guns in TacOps are below.

Range - Penetration

0m - 25mm

375m - 15mm

625m - 8mm

875m - 8mm

1250m - 6mm

2000m - 4mm

U.S. Army public source materials for the 7.62mm M993 AP round state 15mm penetration at 300 meters and 7mm pentration at 500 meters vs HA.

I think the TacOps values are close enough with some padding added for burst firing.

Some parts of the Apache helo may be invulnerable to 7.62mm fire but not everything. it is my understanding that the armor on the Apache is meant just to generally enhance crew survivability and not to allow it to engage in prolonged toe to toe slugfests with infantry crew served weapons

>Apaches are very vulnerable to units with

>these medium machineguns.

I don't have a problem with that smile.gif.

------------------

Best regards, Major H

majorh@mac.com