Qustions re: Tanks vs. Assault Guns vs. Self-Propelled Guns vs. Tank Destroyers

As a relative newbie to CM (one of the best games I’ve ever played!), I’m still learning the ropes when it comes to using the many different units in their most suitable role, particularly armored units.

Can anyone clarify for the me the basic distinctions between tanks, assault guns, self-propelled artillery, and tank destroyers? What would be the most effective use of each type of unit? What are the vulnerabilities of each? When should I be purchasing a tank as opposed to an assault gun, and so on?

I know this may be a topic worthier of a dissertation than a forum post, but any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance………….

They have distinct differences, even betwhen countrys. But in general a tank is a for its class heavy armored turreted vehicle with a main gun that is designed to fire a round that should defeat a equal class armored vehicle.

Assault Guns are ussuly non turreted armored vehicles that utilize larger caliper, less accurate guns that are suited more for quick infantry and bunker busting support

Selfpropelled Artillery is a armored vehicle that mounts a artillery barrel desigend to fire in a higher arc to allow depolyment of artillery. Mainle to keep up with the rapid moving tank and infantry forces

A Tank Destroyer is generaly a special vehicle that has had some comprimices in production such as skipping the turret, or reducing armor or forgetting the armor on the turret top all together to allow cheeper production. It is generly mounted with a capable anti tank type gun. Some of these types blend a bit together and some people would and will argue that this or that vehicle fits in two categories.