Newbie Questions

Major Belles

Okay... although I'm not new to BTS games, I'm new to TacOps. I've got a few questions. Firstly, I'm having trouble constantly with moving a Bradley/other APC into combat, it gets blasted to shreds, and the infantry just sits until it gets plastered by the off-board artillery. The infantry moves very slowly, so it's not able to get out of the artillery fire; am I doing something wrong, or is this realistic? (Any advice?) Also, do units (mainly infantry) get slower under fire? If I shoot from woods, does it affect my firing, or just firing against me? Another thing; every once in a while alot (about fifty) artillery shots appear on my screen with this space age sound. What's that? If you hit the artillery spotters (little gray squares with crosses) with artillery, can they get eliminated?

The Major

Note. Just to cause no confusion, I'm no real major like MajorH; it's a title acquired at the BTS Tactical Air Combat Games discussion forum (games are HIGHLY advised).

The scale in Tacops means that infantry move very slowly. Combine this with artillary surpression and they won't move at all on the map. Try to only deploy infantry in good cover and be sure to have your APCs advance behind your tanks. Shooting from woods does not affect firing. The little grey squares are target refrence points smile.gif. Artillary can only shoot at areas spotted by your guys or target refrence points (I think). Artillary spotter units just provide increased accuracy. The space age sound only happens if you accidently hit an alien saucer.

> Firstly, I'm having trouble constantly with moving a

> Bradley/other APC into combat, it gets blasted to shreds ...

You may need to be sneakier and more cautious when moving. Try to avoid moving in open terrain that offers long range observation. Make more use of covering terrain and travel in larger groups.

> ... and the infantry just sits until it gets plastered by the

> off-board artillery.