Multiplayer stuff

Am I correct in remembering that Battlefront is going to host a PBEM opponent registry for CM? Also will CM hotseat as well as it does PBEM?

I've never done PBEM before, and I am a little nervous about it. However, I know that it's probably the only reliable way to find a human opponent, which is always better than playing the AI. However, sounds like you guys are going to narrow the gap quite a bit.

Guest Big Time Software

Multiplayer options are Hotseat, PBEM, and TCP/IP (Net and most likely LAN).

Nothing to fear from PBEM, as we have made it all but cheat proof. It is a great way to do up a game over a prolonged period of time, but TCP is better because both players can play at the same time. In other words, PBEM has the same problems that Hotseat does.

We aren't sure about who is going to host PBEM laders. All I can say at this point is that SOMEONE will smile.gif

Steve

Thanks for the reply.

Kind of off topic, but:

Did you see that someone started another company similar to yours, Shrapnel Games?

They actually mentioned Battlefront.com in a congrtulatory manner since the idea started here. That the idea is catching on is good news for the gamers, but I don't know how you guys feel about it. Will it be competition, or will their success not hurt yours?

Also, did you see the Academy on their site? Interesting idea.

The problem with their site, currently, is that they only offer one product.

I got to thinking about what you said about the TCP/IP play and it brought a question to mind. I fully expect for you to tell me this is impossible, but I got to ask. In Internet play can both players enter their orders at the same time?

Like I said I imagine that is impossible, but boy would it be cool. Maintain all the value of a turn-based two player game, but move nice and quick too.

Guest Big Time Software

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>In Internet play can both players enter their orders at the same time?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>