Mini-AAR#1: Gefechtsaufklaerung as Germans

Hi,

I played this scenario this evening and I enjoyed it very much, and with no modifications, I won Total Victory.

(** disclaimer, I am new to wargaming and am not an expert in tactics, my post reflects this **)

Thought I'd share the scenarios:

---- spoiler ahead (of coss, this *is* the scenario forum ---

basically, back in June 1941, as a recon group, you are tasked to "check out" (attack) a small village in Lithuania.

Your small force comprises of veteran platoon with 50mm motar and a HMG, and accompanied by a Stug IIIB, one half-track 251/10, one 75mm Infantry Gun and lastly one 105mm FO.

What is waiting for you in and around the village is a company of Russian troops with HMGs, Tank Hunters, Motar and a 45mm AntiTank Gun.

-----------

Planning Phase

-----------

This is a small map with undulating surface, you are at a corner of the map (high) while the road leads to a depression (low) before a sloped road block and a hugh heavy building (church on a high ground) and behind is the cemetery. You are in an area which has Scattered Trees but not much Concealment or cover.

It is likely that most enemy troops will be concentrated in the village, mostly in the Church, it is the only tall heavy building ( and where the flag is )

It is also likely that troops will be stationed around the road block leading to the village.

Plan#1: destroy the church and surrounding buildings with as much of 105mm power. Also complement the arty with the 75mm Gun.

Plan#2: Use 75mm Gun, HMG, Motar as suppressive fire to the village. Use Platoon to support the 251 and IIIB up the village.

Plan #3: Advance the 251 and the IIIB up the village through the right side (no barb wire or obstacles). capture the flag.

--------

Turn 0

--------

Armed with this plan, I positioned the 251 and IIIB along the road among the scattered trees. Behind, I positioned the hmg. motar ang 75mm and fo. towards the left, i position my platoon.