Attacking with the American Infantry Platoon

I'm still fairly new at the game and am having the biggest problem attacking with my infantry.

The squads don't have the firepower to fight defending forces, especially MGs. So of course I need to use my own .30 cal MGs and 60mm mortars. But with the short sighting distances on the most of the battlefields, I have a hard time keeping the MGs and mortars close enough to use, but far enough back to stay safe. And I'm also struggling figuring out how to keep the mortars under command and control with the radios -- where should my PL be?

I use my 60mm mortars in a direct fire role up on the line with my squads. Every situation is different but my basic strategy is this:

1. move a scout team up to an undefended hedgerow(the next hedgerow will have Germans). Let the scouts sit a few seconds to look for enemy and draw their fire.

2. Move up the rest of your platoon onto the same hedgerow including the 60mm. Try to time all your squads arriving around the same time so that fire superiority is quickly gained. Usually, I split my squads so that when an squad takes MG fire, it only affects the section, not the whole squad. Keep the HQ back a few meters so it doesn't take fire.

3. Deploy the 60mm asap. By this time at least one of your units should have spotted an enemy unit on the next hedgerow, even if it is still a '?'

4. Once the 60mm is deployed, have it fire just behind the hedgerow where the enemy unit is spotted. The first two rounds are spotting rounds so they are slow to come and are usually off target but after that the rounds come in fast and close to the target.

5. Generally speaking, it takes about 10 60mm rounds to silence an enemy unit. Watch your ammo count on the mortar, they fire fast. If there is another enemy on the same hedgerow then after 10-12 rounds you can switch to the other target.