Defense Advice

I am defending with 3200 points on a very large bocage map.Germans are defending a small town against human opponenet.

Are the fortification purchases a smart buy?Out of bunker ,trench,foxhole,sandbag wall,hedgehog obstacle,barbed wire,mines.What would you get?Or none at all and stick to a mobile defense plan?

I remember from back in the Cmx1 days, experienced players would not purchase any fortifications.

I have no experience with new defensive systems other than finding out trenches do not offer much protection against artillery.

Since you can't have panthers I would purchase some PzIVs and upgrade their experience and leadership to give them the edge they need to make up for lack of armor. You will definitely need a mobile defense on such a large map with so many points. Your opponent is sure to purchase significant arty with his wad if points and so anything immobile like bunkers and AT guns will eventually get pounded.

When i am on defense i always want to try and counterattack if my force permits. Once i know where they are it begins. Since you are purchasing your units, turn the tables on your opponent right off the bat... make a kampfgruppe for attack if you can.

If your opponent cry's foul... remind him or her it is a WAR game. ;-)

He might load up on 60mm mortars which can move up and direct fire. Even if they are called in, it only takes ~4 min for those to start falling if indirect fired. Same goes for on map 81mm which can be called in indirect in about 5 mins. Lack of mobility is almost always, eventually a bad thing on the battlefield, even if you are not facing any artillery.