Height Adjusting Maps

para

Hi all

Ain't got my manual yet and it's my very first time at making a map so please be patient. I'm trying to adjust the height of various types of ground in the map editor. I want the ground to start at say 20 then gently rise up for a distance then reach an embankment then a sheer rock face.

How do i do this? Every time i try, it adjusts all the map areas ground levels. If you get what i mean?

cheers

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Para

Try painting the height spots on as contours like you would see in a map. The closer the contours the steeper the slope - that's a good start point. If you email me at georgemc at coldclimbs dot com I'll send you the (slightly out of date but still covers the main points) CMSF secnario design manual. The main points in that still hold true for CMBN as they are the same game engine.

Cheers fur noo

George

Hi Para

Try painting the height spots on as contours like you would see in a map. The closer the contours the steeper the slope - that's a good start point. If you email me at georgemc at coldclimbs dot com I'll send you the (slightly out of date but still covers the main points) CMSF secnario design manual. The main points in that still hold true for CMBN as they are the same game engine.

Cheers fur noo

George

Sorry George MC

I have no idea what that means lol. I have emailed you though as per your suggestion.

Really appreciate the offer of the design manual will come in very handy :-)

ps i am trying to create a Omaha Beach map, so if anybody with lots of knowledge regarding the US landings want to contribute advice or info on any aspect of the battle. i would really like to hear from you.

While we're on the heights topic...

I understand that the fewer "black spots" on my map, the better (for faster framerates and less strain on the computer).