New to Series, Not a warm welcome

jyxr

Hello there, I'm jyxr. I'm posting here because I figured this would be the place to search for performance issue resolutions. I'm new to the TOW series and really want to play it and give it a chance. However upon purchase and installation of TOW 3 I find that the game, regardless of settings, has an extremely low frame rate to the point of being unplayable. Oddly enough I have a 3.8 GHz quadcore processor , 8GB dd3 ram, 1 GB ddr5 video ram. I'm able to play many newer games on max settings including Fallout New Vegas , Civilization 5, and Shogun 2 Total War. I don't know what's wrong. I'm attempting a reinstall and have updated my video drivers in hopes this will resolve the issue. Any help is much appreciated.

-Jyxr

I have a fairly old laptop intel 2Ghz dual core, 4Go RAM, Nvidia GeForce 8600M GS 512Mo, and the game is running without performance issues. I have not updated the drivers of the graphic card since ages (version 187.66), so perhaps ToW3 is running better with older versions of the drivers?

I'm not sure if an older Catalyst driver will fix the performance issue here or not. There are limitations as to how old of a driver you can use depending on which video card you have. If you want to try a different driver you can do this:

1) Download your desired driver (or possibly several versions to try).

2) Download Driver Sweeper.

3) From the 'Programs and Features' control panel, uninstall the ATI/AMD video drivers. There might be several 'ATI' items listed here. You may want to uninstall the one that mentions 'install/uninstall'. You will probably have to reboot once you have uninstalled these drivers.