ATGM ambush scneario - A few questions *spoiler alert*

Hi all,

I am fairly new to CMSF, but not to the CM series. I am really amazed at the lethality and range of effective fire in CMSF - but that is all good.

In the aforementioned scenario, I am struggling to get past the first few turns without loosing at least 1 Bradley. You essentially begin the scenarios in LOS and range of ATGMs and this leads me to ask a few questions.

I am pretty certain that if I just target the likely places for ATGMs and start blasting away from the get-go that I would resolve this problem. But this seems a bit gamey to me. I mean, do the US forces just plaster anything that *might* be a possible site without any regard to the ROE and to the presence of civilians?

2) When you send a squad into a Bradley to get a Javelin, there is also what I assume to be a reload there as well. Can you take both the Javelin and some reloads at the same time?

3) One of the big differences I personally am struggling with from the previous CMs is that you have many less personnel on the ground to accomplish the mission. I keep wishing I had twice as many troopers (I don't need any more Bradleys) to accomplish the mission.

4) My number one question though is this: Why did the US quit using/deploying small diameter mortars with its troopers. I mean, I would give up half of my Javelins in exchange for some 81mm mortar sections. Especially if there were reloads in the Bradleys. Al of these slightly reverse-slope or key-hole ATGMs would be easier to deal with if I could drop some mortars to suppress.

At the start of that scenario just "Fast" your vehicles behind some trees for some cover. You can get through it without losing a Brad but you have to assume that you KNOW that there are ATGMs out there before the battle begins.

Thanks. If I am reading between the lines overall. You have to always assume that there are ATGMs out there and place your vehicles accordingly, correct?