using Battalion/Company HQ’s, and XO’s in the game?

Vinnart

I have been playing the game for over 2 years., and totally get how to use platoon HQ’s, and understand maintaining good C2 with it’s squads. I am curious as to how some of you are using Battalion/Company HQ’s, and XO’s in the game? I really have found no real use for these units beyond an extra set of eyes for spotting for arty, I usally put these HQ's on the best perch to see most of batttlefield, and leave them there, and use XO's as follow up medic teams. Any tips? l

In Cmx1 if a squad was out of command radius of its own HQ, but within the command radius of the Company HQ the squad would then be in command by the Company HQ. Is this the case in CMSF? Game example: I had a small objective to get way off on a flank, and expected little contact. I dispatch a squad from 1st platoon, and the Company XO to capture it. Will the squad benefit, or be in command of the XO since it is right next to it, and out of C2 with it’s own HQ?

I am curious if the CMx1 feature I described will be in CMBN where a squad, or team could fall under command of Company HQ, so I will ask this part of my question again in CMBN forum. I liked this feature in CMx1 as it allowed a more flexible force set up, and made good use of Company HQ’ as extra HQs.

In real life, the company and battalion commanders would be making many of the decisions that the player makes in CMSF, who has to make ALL the decisions from squad level, all the way up to batallion level.

I would place the higher HQs and XOs in good spotting locations in well-secured areas, as you are doing, and give them short cover arcs so that they don't open fire unless enemy units are in close proximity. I think this is easily in line with what happens in reality in terms of non-administrative involvement by these units.

I wouldn't sya as a "reserve" so much but certainly you should be at the critical point where you can influence the battle.