Approach against ATGM concealed positions

Since I have no military background my question may come as elementary but it is something it always bothers me.

Assuming one has a mixed force (i.e 3-4 tanks, some of AFVs & personnel carriers (Bradleys and Strykes) and Jeeps coupled with helo support and needs to travel a relatively open area with small villages here and there and other terrain suitable for concealment, what is the "by the book" approach in order to "smoke out" hidden ATGMs?

Do you "lead with armor" or do you place it on an overwatch position? Do you suppress every single house and orchard you have LOS to? (sounds meticulous but there is the time limit...)

I am playing mission 2 of the German Campaign right now and there is too much uncertainty in relation to the enemy positions and the terrain. Hence the nature of my question

Well?

If you're facing older, wire-guided ATGMs you can try moving very fast perpendicular to their position with cover arcs. Overwatch can then eliminate the gunners before the missiles land. Doesn't work against never ones, you'll only expose your vulnerable side. :D

The Israelis never solved the problem in the last Lebanon War.

I think this question is at the core of playing CMSF.

And if there were an infallible solution, the game would no longer be interesting.

Totally agree.

Found an interesting publication about Hezbollah using Kornet ATGM's against Israeli armour during the 2006 war -

http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil/pdffiles/pub882.pdf

*********SPOILERS***********

In said mission (2nd of German Campaign) I basically followed this approach:

Tanks left far behind in overwatch positions. Almost all tank gun-shots were made at +1km distances.

Then I decided to follow the slow and meticulous approach. Heavy suppressive fire to all multi-storey buildings and as well as to all buildings facing the direction of my approach.