The "one" to buy

I am new to Strategic Command, but looking over the game I am interested.

I am a little confused by all the different titles, however.

My question.... if I am to buy just one, would Global Conflict be the one to purchase? Or at least begin with?

Thanks for any suggestions.

As far as SC, the latest is always the greatest. There are demos from every release. Just think of each SC as a step up in complication. SC1, simple, intuitive, rapid fire turns. Global, a substantial investment in learning the features, although still very user friendly, not a grognard's escapade, but a very decent AI and outstanding PBEM mechanics.

Its like the old "middle of the road" AH and SPI boardgames without the tedious movement of the pieces.

Welcome Mudhugger,

I bought Strategic Command Global Conflict (SCGC) last year when it first came out. It is the first Battlefront game I have ever Purchased and it has more than met my expectations.

Here is what I really like about it.

1. Just as Seamonkey says, it's a good middle of the road game as far as complexity goes. If you have played Axis and Allies you got a good idea of what this game is like. Also, this game plays very closely to an old 1990's game called Panzer General. Very similar mechanics but not at all the same game.

2. It is modable. You can make it as hard or as easy as you like once you become familiar with scripts. You can turn them on or off as you like. Example: there is a script that gives the Italians a 25% chance of declaring war on Greece without the axis human players consent or control. You can turn that off if you don't like it. You can also write your own scripts to create your own historical or what if events. i.e. let's say you write a script that gives a chance that Staufenburg's or Rommel's plot to kill off Hitler works and you make some consequences for that action. I'm presently trying to design a 1936 scenario to open some other possiblities to the war.