Lag

theoneandonly

Hey Guys

Just been trying out Theatre of War 2 on a friends computer, I've considered purchasing it, and it looks like a sure winner... But.. Does anyone know how to fix the lag issue?

I'm an experienced 3d artist within the games industry, and from what i can figure out the lag is caused by there being... well NO LODS, or none that are working anyway. Is there a patch or fix to stop this lag?

The game is like something from a (good) dream, it couldn't be built better to my specifications of a strategy game, but the lag just ruins it, I can't play it and said flatmates computer is very powerful (same as mine: 1gb video memory - 8gb ram -quadcore etc.)

I really want to buy this guys, but if there is no fix for the lag its just going to frustrate me :(

Any ideas?

Unfortunately I do not know of any fix for the 'lags' in the campaigns. Apparently there are a lot of calcs (LOS, LOF, spotting, etc.) going on in the background and I believe that that may be slowing down updates for video data (despite having powerful video cards). I don't know if there really is an issue with LODs or not. I would assume that 1C would have optimized the video display pretty well and would have created several LODs for all of the models.

The only 'workaround' is to play at '1/2 speed', though that may not work for everyone or produce desirable results.

If you play some of the self-created Mission Editor battles, you may see better performance (since there will be a reduction in units, typically).

Hey man, thanks for the reply.