Demo - Going to Town

I am just demoing Combat Mission Shock Force and it is a lot of fun most of the time. However, sometimes I find myself getting really frustrated by the results of some of the firefights.

Example 1.

I moved half a squad (5 men) plus a medium mg into the second floor of the large grey building at the far end of the board so they could cover my general advance that was attempting to secure the Government complex by a sweeping outflanking move. I thought that with that sort of firepower (especially the MG team) and the advantage of height any infantry in the bushes to the right should be vulnerable.

My teams soon saw a Kornet ATGM. So far so good. However when they engaged they failed to kill the ATGM and then got hit and pretty much wiped out by the ATGM firing back having caused no casualties to the ATGM crew. I was surprised by that result and would like to know if it was realisic. I'm no military expert but I would have thought in a firefight between a Kornet ATGM in bushes at 300m or so and an MMG and half a squad in what appears to be a fairly sturdy building the Kornet team would be in trouble?

Example 2.

I had half a squad (5 men after split for assault) in Objective Ruby. They were engaged by a rifle squad (including an RPG) from the flat roof of the single story building that is part of the Government complex (Objective diamond). They immediately returned fire and I was expecting that with the advantages they enjoyed of much better cover and presumably superior training the Syrians would be quickly eliminated or at least forced to exit the roof since they were on a bare rooftop completely exposed. Instead the RPG operater returned fire and wiped my team out. I was surprised, especially as whenever I put my guys on a roof they seem to get killed very quickly.

Are such results typical of CMSF or is it just the demo or just me?