LAN multiplayer in TOW2

Greetings fellow generals,

I am a veteran of TOW but I mainly play on LAN with a few friends (not on-line).

Does TOW2 have LAN multiplayer?

How are the multiplayer maps? My main complain with TOW was that the size of the maps was limited (we like huge maps. I mean huge maps where you can hide and hunt. Hunting is half the fun!) Also, the unit limitation.

Can someone who has the game please comment on the multiplayer maps (number of maps and size of maps)? Are they basically the same size as TOW or you can increase the map size if you choose?

I really want to buy TOW2 but I've heard that it doesn't support LAN multiplayer which is a deal breaker for me. Please advise.

Over and out.

Of course LAN multiplayer is supported. Map size depends on the mission, maximum size is 2x2km like in ToW1. There are new MP modes where you must control one position for a set time or control most critical positions when the times runs out and in some missions (Attack&Defend ones) defender can position it's units and fortifications before the battles.

Thanks Sneaksie. It is great that LAN multiplayer is supported.

It is a bit disappointing to have the same maximum 2x2km map size. I understand perhaps half or even more than half prefer smaller maps to quickly get involved and have a frag fest but there is a whole market and a different breed of players that prefer larger maps where they don't actually want to bump into enemy right off the bat. The thrill of finding, scouting, hunting, and being scouted or hunted in large maps is a very important element and adds to the value of the game. It was also a tremendous psycological reality of WW2 for tank commanders to not know where lies the next trap or spotting a remote scout tank.

It has always boggled my mind why 1C company doesn't want to cater to both types of players. We are not asking to get rid of small maps. We are just asking to give us the option to go with larger maps only for those who want it.