Stryker Mobile Gun System

ShaneO

I've never been much use with vehicle tactics, and the MGS just baffles me. As it currently stands, being an MGS driver assigned to my command isn't far short of a death sentence. Furthermore, during their brief lifespan, I can't come up with anything useful for them to do. They don't pack the ammo load to pound away at static defences from long range, but naturally putting them up against tanks head-to-head reduces their battlefield role to being a decent place to toast marshmallows.

I'm pretty new to Shock Force, and have just started experimenting with having one follow each Stryker infantry platoon, so the infantry go up front with their Strykers covering them and the MGS covering those. Due to the way they're typically assigned by platoon though, I suspect that this isn't how the pros do it. Any suggestions?

What I mainly use them for is to attack enemy APCs and other lighter vehicles from hull down positions, or to be used as direct fire support against buildings, simply shooting out whole floors with HE rounds, instead of waiting for howitzers or air planes to do the job of protecting my assaulting infantry and vehicles.

Also with the new smoke screen fire mission you can cover you position and engage enemy tanks through the smoke with your Stryker MGSs. Only do this against older, non-upgraded armour though, since the modern systems will have passive IR that can see through the smoke just as well as you.

Know that the Strykers' own smoke is IR-blocking to give them full protection, so you can't 'Pop Smoke' and see through that.

As you have seen the MGS absolutely CANNOT stand toe to toe with enemy tanks, even old ones. The anti-tank capability is basically for emergencies only. The main tank killers in the Stryker BCT are the Javelins, TOWs, and any attached armor.