Auto Vehicle Facing and Order Response Issues

I just started playing the campaign over again since applying the 1.04 patch and have noticed two annoying facing problems still present in the game

I noticed the problem a lot when playing the first mission in the campaign, specifically when using my M1A1 platoon to break throught the berm at the highway. I send them to the highway and set their facing down the highway and to the right of the base where most of the static tanks are.

What usually happens is .... Tanks follow initial orders well and set up desired facing. Then the problems begin. The M1A1s begin to engage opportunity and designated targets, all while correctly following your preset orders. Their facing does change a little in response to threat directions and such, but nothing too annoying or unnatural, but here is when the real problem comes about.

After the M1A1s and the MGS backup have engaged some targets, the M1A1s tend to randomly turn their turrent 180 degrees toward their rear and begin rotating their hull around too. Their is absolutley no threat in that direction [but often there are friendlies firing at targets from behind the rotating tank, dont know if this is a factor or related], so I'm wondering why the heck they are doing this. I say no problem and try to order them to STOP immediatley and/or give them a correct facing order. Then the next problem shows up. While doing their happy 180 spin they do not respond to the stop request at all and dont respond to new orders until they have turned almost completley around exposing their rears to the enemy.