Red vs Red Scenario and The Chechen War Theatre

The scenario was created in an attempt to give some context for my mates and I to play multiplayer Red-vs-Red. While I tried to keep the scenario as plausible as I could to the best of my humble knowledge of the conflict at hand, it is not supposed to depict anything historically accurate. Although I always welcome constructive criticism, so feel free to fire away.

The scenario takes place on 8 May 1995 in the Northern flatlands of Chechnya, several months after the frontline Russian units have captured the area and moved on further South, leaving a rear-echelon unit to garrison the area.

The Company-sized engagement depicts a raid by a Chechen Rebel unit (Blue), presumably part of Basayev’s Guerrillas, on a Regional Administration center of Polyanskoe (the name is pretty much made-up), and the ensuing Russian Federal Forces (Red) counter-attack.

Sneak-peek...

chechen1redsn8.jpg

I’ve never tried this form of file-sharing before, so bare with me... MetaFire Shared Folder

Now also availible though CMMods

I plan on creating a series of these to keep myself away from those obscene Strykers and Javelins, and if I don’t get flamed back into the stone age I’ll gladly keep posting them on the forum (seeing how none of the Scenario sites have geared themselves for CMSF). :D

[ February 15, 2008, 07:46 PM: Message edited by: The Louch ]

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Uhh yes, thank you... forgot to mention... while designed for multiplayer, there is a Blue AI, which does a reasonable job of defending the village. However when I tried making an AI for the Red to attack the village, the best it could do was “get completely and utterly slaughtered”… so I didn’t even bother keeping it.

Hence the scenario is Multiplayer or Red

I have to agree with berli,

these types of battles are much more interesting for me.