Windows 2000 backwards compatibility

This is not really a Combat Mission question, but it happens to be one of the few places I can get an intelligent question to something like this.

Windows 2000 doesn't work on a lot of games that were designed to run on 95 or 98.

I heard recently that one particular one that I have been itching to play for several years (Great Battles of History) could be massaged into compatibility with a patch that gives Windows 2000 many of the backwards compatibility features of Windows XP. As a computer non-literate, I have no idea whether I am talking gibberish or not.

A while back I became aware of something called a Service pack, and took a stab at setting it up and running it. I never succeeded, got a lot of crashes (but apparently no data loss), and my system didn't seem to operate quite as smoothly as it had before. I'm sure I messed up in the installation, but decided to rip it out of my system and not worry about it for a while.

Now I've just realized that I'm working on a huge project, and that even with back-ups, a crash resulting in data-loss would be catastrophic ( translation = no flag mod with US and Commonwealth shoulder patches). So I'm inclined to put all of this on hold for a few weeks until after the next CMMOS release.

But when the smoke clears and I want to take a break from CM and find out what really happened at Granicus (by setting up each of the sixteen different theories of how the battle was supposed to have worked, and seeing what they do under the Richard Berg model -- which I could do on the board game, but who has the time and patience for something like that --), I'd like to take a swing at doing something new with my system [shudder].