Our Military backgrounds

Well, with the success of Frenchy's tread on our family ties in WW2, how about our own military experience, if we have any.

Right then, I'll start with myself.

After finishing law school, I joined the Belgian army as an officer cadet.

I did 10 months of training in the armored school. Training went from basic infantry squad tactics up to the technical and tactical aspects of being a tank or recce platoon commander.

Then, promoted to 2nd lieutenant and sent to (West) Germany ('88 to '93) were I served as Platoon commander (Leopard I tank), 2nd in command of a combat Company, Assistant S2-S3 and seccond in command of HQ Company. One of the greatest experiences of my military career was participating in the winning CAT ' 89 team (Canadian Army Trophy, a NATO tank shooting contest)

Then from '93 to '95 I was a contracting and procurement officer in HQ in Brussels.

Then in the end of '95 went as contracting and procurement officer to Croatia and Bosnia for the mission IFOR. I served in Split (met my wife there) and Visoko (near Sarajevo) and was on this post for 13.5 months.

After that, I had an offer I could not refuse from my present company and am working in logistics in support of NATO, UN, US Army, oil companies etc....

Since halfway '97 I have worked in Sarajevo, Albania, Sierra Leone, Congo, Kazakhstan and, now, Jordan and Iraq.

How about you guys

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi i be second,

when i was 18 i got drafted in the dutch army by the engineers.

Served my fourteen months and said to myself never trust the dutch if there is a war because the only thing you learn there is drinking using dope. :D:D

Before i enlisted i fought of becoming a full time soldier but after my time both al my savings where gone and my health too so i didnt do that.

So now i am a Network administrator for an it compagny and still drinking and using ****

:mad: :mad: