Sheesh - what a bunch of Germanophiles ;-)

On May 21, I posted two "vs AI" versions of a battle on the SD site. It pits Guards Cav vs SS Cav.

Here are the current download stats:

WBRP - Company Town (vs Ad AI); 85 downloads

WBRP - Company Town (vs Ax AI); 64 downloads

Both are still on the Current Submission table, so the apparent bias in favour of donning SS uniforms can't be due to "Marketing".

I noted a similar bias in download rates when they were imultaneously available on The Proving Grounds site, although I didn't record the numbers.

Discuss...well, discuss things other than the fact that I am a lousy statistician...

• Replies 222
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Originally posted by Brent Pollock:

I noted a similar bias in download rates when they were imultaneously available on The Proving Grounds site, although I didn't record the numbers.

Discuss...well, discuss things other than the fact that I am a lousy statistician...

When I was with CSDT I released 14 scenarios on the 19th and 21st of August 2003. One of those was named CSDT SH12 A Soviet Hero. Of the 14 scenarios released on those 2 days guess which one has the lowest download rate?

Yes, the Soviet Hero scenario. It has 18 less than the next closest one so that isn't too bad. But is has 441 less than the best one. It also doesn't have any reviews done it. In fairness though, some of the others don't either.

It was obviously not the pick of the pack when it was released. In my own opinion that scenario is better than some of the higher downloaded scenarios. I learned from that though that the name you give a scenario can be crucial to it's success.

Try searching a game at Scenaro Depot or Proving Ground for "vs. Allied A/I". Then do the same thing, just for "vs. Axis A/I".

I haven't, but I am convinced that there are at least twice as many "Vs. Allied A/I" as the other way around. Clearly, a majority of CM players likes to play Axis.